All news

Merko won the highest construction awards

Sergei Strigin, Deputy Director of the General Construction Division of Merko Ehitus Eesti, was selected by the jury of the Estonian Association of Construction Entrepreneurs as the Constructor of the Year 2019 due to his successful management of the works on the Tallink office building construction.

The aim of the Constructor of the Year competition is to find the best construction manager whose work has been recognised by the client, the architect, the designer, and the person exercising owner supervision. The competition aims to value the profession of constructor and recognise the best in the field.

The Constructor of the Year was selected for the eleventh time. Merko has won this coveted title five times.

Maakri Residential Quarter is the winner of the Buildings category of the Construction Project of the Year 2019 competition, organised by the Estonian Association of Architectural and Consulting Engineering Companies, and the T1 shopping centre project won the special prize for the Best Digital Innovation Project 2019, which is awarded by the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Communications.

The Construction Project of the Year competition aims to highlight unique buildings and structures, and recognise their designers.

The aim of the competition, which took place for the seventh time, is to contribute to the quality of engineering consulting services and the reputation of design companies, and to raise awareness among contracting entities. Last year, Tõrva Central Square, built by Merko, won the Best Engineering Project of 2018 award at the competition.

The Ministry of Economic Affairs and Communications issued the special award for digital innovation for the third time, and Merko has been part of the winning projects in all previous years. In 2018, the projects of Noblessner’s residential buildings and Viimsi Gymnasium were recognised for model design implementation. In 2017, Merko received the special award for the design of Telia’s new headquarters.